Week #81 – Hold True

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

New Companion Elder Gutierrez

Hey Mom, it is so good to see pictures! YOU look AMAZING!!!! You are so beautiful Mom, I love you so much! You are the best mother anyone could ask for! I did get your Valentine package, thank you so much, you can be my valentine anytime, I am so thankful for You and Dad and all my family and friends, yall have helped me so much! I just got my mask today, thanks for letting me get that. It will be so useful! I am thoroughly enjoying the mission. I am so thankful for this opportunity I have to serve my Savior Jesus Christ. He is the most Merciful and Loving being ever! I love him, and my Heavenly Father. What more of blessings could we ask for than to live with Jesus Christ and Our Heavenly Father with our families. That is all we could ever ask for, and he will give it to us as we are faithful!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DANE! That sounds like fun, chilling on the beach for Danes’ birthday! Awesome! I miss the beach infinitely. but its okay. Everything is going great here, my companion Elder Gutierrez is awesome, he works hard and likes to have fun, I love it. The lord has really been blessing me with great companions who i get along well with! best. I will send you a lot of pics of some things we have done recently, and of my companion and I.

Other than that how is everyone???? AUBREE? BLAKE? DEMI? AMANDA? CHASE? JAMES? AMBER? TAYLOR? DAD? I hope they are enjoying the plan of redemption. WE are here on this earth to experience joy and learn and grow. We can all have happiness at anytime, it is conditional upon our personal righteousness and our relationship with our Savior.

This week was an awesome one, filled with transfers, meetings, service, and stake conference! Stake Conference for Monroe, LA was very uplifting and they talked a ton about missionary work and respecting and helping the missionaries I loved it!

Missionary work, has been awesome lately, I have been able to experience and be apart of three wonderful people’s lives and help them enter into a covenant of baptism! Elder G and I are hoping to be able to get another one into the waters. This transfer is a 7 week one, so we are going to be working really hard and pushing to HELP people make this change in their life. The three people that got baptized were, Brenda Reeves, Brandi Majeska, and Frank Marsala. It is so wonderful to be apart of there lives. I hope I can continue to help them while I am here and be friends with them even after I leave.

I learned something really cool this week. That is– answers are everywhere in the Scriptures we just have to analyze and locate these answers, when anyone tells our church is wrong trying to use the Bible, there are answers everywhere to answer back there garbage— what a great lesson, haha, you know how I am. Let’s get to it.

Once upon a time I was bible bashing with a Pentecostal Preacher who was really cocky, and was saying that we do not believe in Christ, and that we lead people to hell. He was getting on my nerves. He started talking about how we baptize in this church is false.

For Example, this is what he said,

“Elder Corbin, we have a problem here, you see in Matthew 28:19-20 Christ gives the command to baptize ‘in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost’ I understand that your church takes this literally, why is it then that in the early days of the church which begins in Acts Ch 2, that the apostles went around baptizing contrary to Christ’s command which was ‘in the name of Jesus Christ’ ? Therefore the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is false, and you baptize wrong, and do not have prophets and apostles today.” See Acts 2:38, 8:16, 19:5.

I had a weak answer for him at that time. As did all the other previous 20 years worth of missionaries who had met with him prior. He said, “Every time I talk to yall about this, none of you can explain this. You see Mormonism is the example of Satan at work, dragging people down into hell by false baptism.” (HE is very good at railsplits, meaning he takes scriptures out of context)

Since this experience I have asked missionaries, sought and searched for an answer to this ludicrous. I have finally found an answer this week to his question, and it has built my faith tremendously, (this is why it is so important for revelation in our day).

IF I COULD GO BACK I WOULD SAY THE FOLLOWING TO HIM!:::

I will answer this for you SIR!!!!!!!!!!! WATCH AND LEARN! (WOW I WISH I COULD GO BACK THERE to PEARL MS AND PROVE HIM WRONG BUT I CANT< DANG IT!!!!!)

I would reply,

“Sir, your logic is very interesting, I am thankful for the opportunity I have to defend the truth this day. I will prove to you using the Holy Bible how incorrect your interpretation is concerning this thing. Lets turn to 1 Cor. 1:10-15. You see Paul has a problem here writing to the Corinthians he says, “For it hath been declared unto me of you, that there are contentions among you…you saith, I am of Paul; and I of Apollos; and I of Cephas; and I of Christ” I want you to notice sir, that Paul is recognizing that people were forming little segments and saying they are Disciples of Paul or one of the others. Paul continues, “Is Christ Divided? was Paul crucified for you? or were ye BAPTIZED IN THE NAME OF PAUL?… I thank God that I baptized none of you… Lest any should say that I baptized in mine name.” THERE IS YOUR ANSWER; false cults were baptizing in other names. Lets turn to one of the examples you gave, Acts 19:1-5, starting at verse 3. I find it amusing that you would quote Acts 19:5 but fail to read the verses prior. You would have been a great Pharisee. Starting in verse three Paul says, “UNTO WHAT then were ye baptized? and they said, UNTO JOHNS’ BAPTISM.” Notice it says UNTO WHAT. sir lets continue. In verse 4, Paul teaches that “John did baptize with the baptism of repentance, SAYING UNTO THE PEOPLE THAT THEY BELIEVE ON HIM WHICH SHOULD COME AFTER HIM, THAT IS, ON CHRIST JESUS” Paul just taught them that they should believe in Christ Jesus and be baptized in his name, not johns. Verse 5. “When they heard this, they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus.” Why was it that they were baptized again? Were they not already baptized UNTO JOHNS BAPTISM. What it meant by “unto Johns baptism” was they were baptized “in the name of John” hence false cults baptizing, which caused Paul to re-baptize them “in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.” How plain can it get sir, What the scriptures are pointing out here is unto “WHOSE BAPTISM” we are to be baptized. let us return to the scripture you used earlier, Acts 2:38. It is clearly pointing out unto whose baptism we are to be baptized, “in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ” which merely points out and denotes the Church, which would be that of our Lord Jesus Christ. That we should not be baptized by a false cult in the name of John or Apollos or one of the others. You see sir, you have completely and utterly missed the mark. What’s funny about it is that Christ actually taught this in Matt. 20:23, that we must indeed, “be baptized with the baptism that I(he, Jesus Christ) am baptized with;..” therefore we know that Christ was baptized in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost, hence the command in Matt. 28., therefore we do baptize “in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ” denoting unto whose baptism we baptize, it is not to be taken literally against Jesus Christs’ command to his apostles.”

Note, I wouldn’t make him feel that dumb just to satisfy my own pride, but for here I think it would suffice. Haha. But maybe if he is a binkis, and kept being ignorant.

As you see here, I had thought and pondered over this question for a lot of my mission, I have finally found the answer thanks to some searching and help from books.

WE all come across Anti against the Church. Which sometimes does not make sense to us, but we must not give up, we must search and pray for the answers, they are there, this church is true. Christs’ doctrine and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter day saints doctrine is all harmonious. THis is his church, God lives. NEVER LET FALSE DOCTRINE AND IGNORANT PEOPLE WHO NO NOTHING ABOUT THE BIBLE USE ONE SCRIPTURE TO ANTAGONIZE YOU!

YOU ARE BETTER THAN THAT! YOUR KNOWLEDGE OF THE BOOK OF MORMON AND YOUR WITNESS FROM THE HOLY GHOST TRUMPS ALL ANTI!

Always hold true to the faith, what you know will always trump what you don’t know or understand. Brothers and Sisters, family, friends, these things are all true. I know that Jesus Christ lives, that Joseph Smith was chosen to restore his church and that the Book of Mormon is another testament of Jesus Christ. Indeed, Families can be together forever through the power of the Priesthood I am so thankful for all of you!

In the Sacred name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Love,

Elder Brenan Corbin

Ps. this is the bible belt, wow, I LOVE IT!

Quote: “Everyone in life has the right aim, but they never pull the trigger.”
DANG!
GO GET IT! BE who you want to BE, nobody remembers the person that gave up!

Leave a Reply

