Week #74 – “I Found My People”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES  Elder Corbin, President Sullivan, Brenda Reeves, Elder Konchar

 

Hey MOM! I am staying in Farmerville, with elder Konchar, so awesome, hopefully we can baptize more of Gods children into the true fold! This week was super crazy!!!!!!!!!! It was rewarding though, for after much tribulation come the blessings! D&C 58:2-4 LETS GO! HAHA, Brenda Reeves got baptized! MY FIRST BAPTISM! She was found about 2 weeks before I was transferred into this area. It was so awesome! I was so pumped for her, she truly knows the church is true!!! Our Branch President baptized her. I confirmed her a member of the church and gave her the Holy Ghost! It was awesome, the spirit was strong! Right after I gave her a blessing she said, “I found my people”. Everyone started laughing haha. I am so thankful for priesthood, it truly is a special gift, I am thankful that I am able to be apart of such a wonderful blessing. WOW, life flies, Hailey Kennedy got back from her mish, crazy, same with Camille, dang! Life is so awesome, congrats to them. Blessings from the lord truly are limitless. Heavenly Father truly does hear prayers and answer them! I can say, with the sincerity of my heart, that there are people prepared all around the world, who the spirit has worked on. There heart is being brought to sincere faith in God, and repentance and a belief in our Lord Jesus Christ. As servants of the Lord we are to find those who are WILLING TO RECEIVE US. When we find that person we are to invite, teach, and help them receive the restored gospel. I believe a lot of us are really good at inviting people to change, and teaching them how, but helping is a completely different subject. Helping someone receive the gospel is a lot more difficult. It requires something of the person teaching and inviting! If you study the scriptures, you will notice that the prophets frame of mind, is very similar to that of Christ. Indeed they have the “mind of Christ”. They have charity, it is that charity which makes them such good missionaries. When we teach and invite, and help people with that love, the spirit will testify of our love, the branches love, and ultimately Christ’s love. How often do we really, really, desire the salvation of someone else’s soul? Sometimes I think we forget about our own, let alone somebody else’s. But our Heavenly Father wants us to receive Eternal Life more than we want it! How awesome is that! Only if we could emulate that kind of Love to those we serve! Indeed we do our best, but we all fall short, and sometimes it is very disappointing. Disappointment in ourselves, in our families, in those around us,and in the world.

When you get to that breaking point, when you get ready to throw in the towel. Where you have no where else to turn but to God. When you lack faith, when you are on your knee’s begging for something, for something to push you along. What is it that you are thinking about?

YOU!!!!!!!

YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT YOU!!!!

THAT IS SELFISHNESS!!!!!! STOP IT!!!!!!

IT IS THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE!!!!

SERVICE IS THE BOTTOM LINE! SERVE UNTIL YOUR LEGS FALL OFF! THEN SERVE UNTIL YOUR ARMS FALL OFF! THEN KEEP SERVING UNTIL YOU CANT EVEN MOVE!

CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY AND EXERCISE FAITH!!!!!!!!!

That is when you will bring the smile of God’s approval!

You want answers to prayers? You want to know if these things are true?

Live the gospel doctrine, and emulate the pure love of Christ.
That is the formula for happiness. No matter what comes our way, no matter the trial, we can still be happy and grateful!

Lets dig a little deeper.

Peter taught, ” 6 Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations:

7 That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:

8 Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

9 Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.”

The “manifold temptations” represent our trials, our lack of faith, our weakness, which is “more precious than gold” because it will bring us closer to Christ if we let it, and ultimately unto salvation, at the end of our faith, the end of our TRIAL, we can receive glory. Remember Christ, he received a crown of thorns before he received a crown of Glory. We have to remember what our purpose is in life, and forget ourselves in service to our Lord.

Paul touched on this a little bit when he talked about eternal perspective!

“While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:18. When we focus our minds and lives on those things which are eternal, it will give us the strength to push threw our troubles in this life, and we will be happy. Singing as the days go by!

I want to testify that God is real. Our Heavenly Father loves us. He loves you. He wants what is best for you. He loves you so much that through his son Jesus Christ, he created the worlds. He created flowers, and animals. He created your body, and gave you a family. He sent you here to learn, to grow, to experience pain, suffering, anguish, sorrow, sacrifice, so that you could learn to experience joy! HE wants you to be happy. You can contact him and learn of him, for his burden is light, and his yoke is easy. I know that if you pray to him, and ask him, your Heavenly Father, that out of your honest heart he will send his spirit to comfort you and you will feel of his love! I promise you that if you pray with an honest heart and plead at your bedside for Heavenly Father to show forth his love unto you, he will, and it will fill your soul with love!!!! I know that Heavenly Father answers prayers, I know that he sends his spirit to comfort us, to lead us, and guide us in the path we are to go. I know that Jesus Christ is truly his son, that he dwelt upon the earth in a place called Bethlehem, that he suffered in a garden called Gethsemane, that he was crucified on the hill, Golgotha. That he was resurrected the third day, that he shewed the apostles his hands and feet! That he truly lives TODAY! HE LIVES! I know that he loves us, that he suffered all these things for us. I know that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph Smith in a grove called Sacred. I know that these things are true. Listen to what I am saying, I know that these things are a reality, I know! I have been brought down to the depths of humility, where I had no where to turn, but to God, and it is these times that are more precious than gold, that I have found my Heavenly Father there saying, ” My son, I am here. Fear not, for I am with thee every step of the way. I have overcome the world, learn to trust me, these things are true, I love you, you can do it.” I know that the Book of Mormon is true, I know that it contains the fullness of the everlasting gospel of my Savior Jesus Christ.

I testify out of the conviction of my soul, that God answers prayers, that he loves you, and is waiting for you to contact him, so he can lead you! Contact him, listen to him, and serve his children.

Remember the scriptures,

When the King of Syria became frustrated with Elisha who was hindering his conquests, he sent spies to locate the prophet and then, under cover of night, had his army surround the town where Elisha was located. Early in the morning, Elisha and his servant arose and saw that they were surrounded. The servant exclaimed: “Alas, my master! how shall we do?” Elisha answered in a reassuring voice: “Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.” Then Elisha prayed and said: “Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.” The young man’s eyes were opened, and he saw that “the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.” 2 Kings 6:8-18. The King of Syria did not prevail.

I testify they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

In the name of Jesus Christ, my master, amen.

Ps. Love you Mom, you are best women I have ever met in my entire life, and I am so thankful for all the love you have shown me, I have felt the presence of the Lord through you! Dad, I love you! You have taught me so much, I have felt the spirit testify of the simple truths you have taught me! Sometimes I cant find the words to describe the words I have for both of you and the rest of the family! Remember this love the savior gave to us, for it is charity that never faileth.

Love Elder Brenan Corbin

Leave a Reply

