Week #44- Come Unto Me

IMG_6105

Brenan Transferred last week to Pearl, MS. This is his new companion Elder Vest.

So this last couple of weeks have been crazy with the transfer and all! Life is pearl is good, we don’t get fed as much but thats okay, Im kinda glad about that actually. So I found out that this area will be turning into a full bike area, so starting next transfer, Elder Vest will probably leave, and i am guessing i will train in the new full bike area, so I will be in a full bike area for a total of most likely 9 months on my mission, soo crazy hot, we are burning out here, that is for both the summers on my mission, It will be great, no one said it would be easy, but it is worth it. The missionary work is good! We are teaching a part member family. The investigators names are Karmen, and Nick, they both smoke but are willing to stop, and they both need to get married to there spouses. But they are looking good, and are really interested and excited about experiencing true joy in there lives! It is going to be a marvelous work and a wonder. WE taught them the plan of salvation last night. They loved it, we will be teaching a resto/gospel lesson to them on monday night. I asked them if they have anything against being baptized and they said no, and that they are looking forward to tackling these challenges they have in there way. What a blessing it is to know that we are the children of a Loving Heavenly Father. Who cares for us and sent his son Jesus Christ TO Lift us to a higher plain of glory. Just like a plant cannot become into a animal, and an animal cant become into a man, only unless the higher being, reaches down and partakes of that substance and brings it into the higher plain, that is what Christ did for us. He, through the Atonement, reaches down to lift us beyond our mortal down fall, and lifts us to become like him, that is why i love the verses in Moses 1:39, Romans 8:16-17, Acts 17: 28-29, 1 John 3: 1-2.

There are many more, but I love the Lord, and am thankful for the grace that he has given us from the beginning of the eternities. Grace is given to us whether we are worthy or not, it is something that will always be there, so if there is anything in your life, that you need to change, that you need to repent, that you need to do to be inline with Heavenly Father and his teachings, do it,there is no need to wait, it will be with you always, grace will be on your side the whole way and forever, but he will not do it for you, you need to try your hardest and while you are doing that, the savior will be ACTIVELY HELPING YOU, for our savior said,

” Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

I have felt this power beyond my own in sacred times in the mission field, when things are looking down, when we are discouraged and tired and beaten and in the heat, when we have no one to teach and no friends to accompany, with the finger of scorn at us, and discouragement dragging us down, with our faith weakening, I have felt the holy spirit push me along,

and i remember the humble hymn dad always used to sing to me,

sometimes I hear the holy spirit whisper it to my heart

“Son fear not,
give said the little stream, give oh give, give oh give. Give, then, as Jesus gives,Give, oh! give, give, oh! give . Give, then, as Jesus gives; There is something all can give. Do as the streams and blossoms do: For God and others live.”

I testify with the power of my soul that this is Gods work, that this is his church, that Christ is our savior, and suffered beyond all, and that he loves us, and because of him eternal happiness can be found in this life and with our loved ones in the eternities, In the name of Jesus Christ amen.

Love Elder Brenan Corbin

Leave a Reply

