Week #28- 5am Bike Ride “On the Lord’s Errand”

Love you mom, happy birthday! Life is so fantastic, through thick and thin the savior is always there for us, I really experienced it this week. My companion Elder Burningham got really sick on thursday night. He was throwing up and have all sorts of problems every 5 minutes. It started at 9 pm Thursday night, and went all night until morning. I didn’t get very much sleep maybe 4 hours or so on and off. And it just kept getting worse and worse for him. So at 430 am, i tried calling the hattiesburg east elders, zls, pervis, basically all the elders that had a car near by, no one was answering, because it got so bad, told burningham, look man you need to go to the hospital, and he was like yah i agree, so i was like heres what i am going to do, i am going to hop on my bike and bike to the Hattiesburg easts pad, i’m going to wake them up, and then come back and we are going to pick you up and go to the E.R. He was like okay, so I hoped on my bike at 5am, and I started the 4 mile bike ride, it was freezing, it was like 30 degree’s out or something dumb, and the whole time i was so tired, i had previously had done insanity twice the day before so my muscles were so fatigued with no sleep at all. And i was just dying all the way there, I got there at 520 am. i hoped off my bike and i got the other elders up, and explained the situation to them, then we went back and took elder burningham to the hospital. turns out everything is okay, he just had a pretty bad case of the flu, and we didn’t have any medicine, that would help him, the doc, prescribed to him some zofran, so we went to Walmart and he bought that, and then he was better, we then rested for the rest of the week, so our numbers were not the best but, we did all we could. I ended up cleaning the entire bathroom cus it just stank sooo bad, i just comet blasted everything!@ bybygerms! it took me like 1 hour and half, then after that, as i was going to take a nap that afternoon, cus we got no sleep elder burningham was like Elder corbin you have been the best comp i have ever had, and i was like thanks bro, its no problem, don’t apologize for being sick. So it just built my testimony, that as we try to live life like the savior did, and as we exemplify him in all we do, we end up blessing other peoples lives more than we think. Thomas S. Monson in his movie, ” On the Lords Errand” at the end he says that, “one of the sweetest feelings i know in life is to follow the promptings of the spirit and then to later to find out that it was the answer to someones, need, or to someones prayer!” That is one hundred percent true. Heavenly Father loves us, and this week because of all the down time I had i was able to start and finish this book called ” Believing Christ” by Stephen E. Robinson. A member let me borrow it because at a dinner appointment we were talking about our interests, and he loves reading and I was like oh yeah, what kind of reading, and he said i love church books written by prophets and other types of book similar, and then i said, Man thats sweet, i wish i was more into reading, before my mission no one could get me to read i hated books, books were the most boring thing on planet earth, but then i learned that books will make you so much smarter, especially when you read books about the gospel, D.C. 88:118. the best book I have read is called “The Infinite Atonement” by Tad R. Callister, and he said i love that book, if you really like that book then you will love this one. Then he handed me the Believing Christ book, an then i asked him hey do you think i could borrow this and give it back to you this sunday, and he said sure. So i read in like almost 4 hours and i could not put it down. It expanded alot on how alot of us believe in christ but we dont believe christ. Let me show you what i mean by that. When we Believe in Christ we believe he is the son of god, we believe that he has the ability to save, we believe that he preformed the atonement. But often times we catch ourselves being hard on ourselves, saying I have repented of my sins but i still feel sad letting the sorrow of those sins still pound our soul with grief, why did i do such a thing, or maybe Christ just cant save me, or maybe everyone else is better than me, I believe in christ and that he can save others, but i cant overcome this weakness or I cant be forgiven of this sin. Maybe we will say something like the man in book who said something like this
” When I was a bishop, I used to hear several variations on a theme. Sometimes it was, “Bishop, I’ve punched my ticket wrong. I’ve just made mistakes that have gotten me off on the wrong track, and you can’t get there from here.” I’ve heard those who say, “Bishop, I’ve sinned too horribly. I can’t have the full blessings of the gospel because I did this, or I did that. I’ll come to Church, and I’ll be active, and I’m hoping for a pretty good reward, but I couldn’t receive the full blessings of exaltation in the celestial kingdom after what I’ve done.” There are those members who say, “Bishop, I’m just an average Saint. I’m weak and imperfect, and I don’t have all the talents that Sister So-and-So does, or Brother So-and-So does. I’ll never be in the bishopric, or I’ll never be the Relief Society president. I’m just average. I hope for a place a little further down.” All of these are variations of the same theme: “I do not believe Christ can do what he claims. I have no faith in his ability to exalt me.”

My favorite is a fellow who said to me once, “Bishop, I’m just not celestial material.” Well, I’d had enough, so I said back to him, “Why don’t you admit your problem? You’re not celestial material? Welcome to the club. None of us are! None of us qualify on the terms of perfection required for the presence of God by ourselves. Why don’t you just admit that you don’t have faith in the ability of Christ to do what he says he can do?”

He got angry. He had always believed in Christ. He said, “I have a testimony of Jesus. I believe in Christ.”

I said, “Yes, you believe in Christ. You simply do not believe Christ, because he says even though you are not celestial material, he can make you celestial material.”

Sometimes we catch ourselves in this same place, believe christ he can do what he says he can do for example look at the prophet Enos! His faith was so strong that it is written that he pierced through the vial and saw god! Enos 1 vs 5-6 ” And there came a voice unto me, saying; Enos, thy sins are forgiven thee, and thou shalt be blessed. And I, Enos, knew that God could not lie; wherefore, my guilt was swept away.” HOW BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!! Let us have the faith of Enos, who trusted in the lord and not only believes in Christ, but also BELIEVES CHRIST ! I know that as we do so the lord will bless us, this church is 100% true, and I know this because of experiences that I have felt the presence of the savior in my life. Through thick and thin, happiness and sorrow, we can recognize that faith will lead us through. Look at Job for example, of Job, Job 5;17, Job 2;10, Job 19;25-26 ” Behold, happy is the man whom God correcteth: therefore despise not thou the chastening of the Almighty:. What? shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips. For I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth: And though after my skin worms destroy this body, yet in my flesh shall I see God:” What comforting words we can apply to our lives. I know that my redeemer liveth, he lives, all glory to his name, pray to him, let him guide your life, it will only bring happiness, i promise you, you will become perfect-in-christ as we use faith, repentance, baptism, recieve the gift of the holy ghost, and endure to the end, we can inherit eternal life. I so testify, because I have felt the redeeming power of the Atonement, and I have seen and felt the tender mercies of the lord, and I have felt his graceful hand touch my life, he truly lives. In the name of Jesus Christ Amen.

Love Elder B. Corbin

Church is so true, love the gospel, follow the spirit, mosiah 3:18

Studies, I read “Believing Christ” all the way through finished that. Started and read to page 45 in “Our search for Happiness”. Read in Job Ch 1-22.

Love it dominate!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

